Giddy Over the Getty

This past weekend I was definitely a tourist in my own town. A good friend and I dined at new restaurants, drove to the Griffith Observatory at sunset and finally visited the Getty Center.

My interest in the Getty was sparked after seeing it featured on Project Runway. Though I’ve lived in Los Angeles for two years, there are still plenty of sites to see and museums to explore.

At the Getty Center our favorite stop was the photography exhibition titled Engaged Observers: Documentary Photography since the Sixties; immediately upon my return I added Streetwise and Girl Culture to my library queue. After much time spent there, Alisa and I roamed the gardens. She held a borrowed umbrella to shade us from the sun and eventually we settled on a bench in the shade and observed, enjoyed and reminisced.

We saw kids rolling in the grass, couples dining on blankets, and people simply enjoying their Sunday. If you’re in Los Angeles and are looking to be inspired, head west. The $15 charge for parking is a steal (admission is free). After 5pm parking is free; I really imagine this place is gorgeous at sunset.

10 responses to “Giddy Over the Getty

  1. Thanks for the gorgeous pics ! Makes me want to visit LA!

  2. I’ve been wanting to visit the Getty for awhile, I still haven’t! But these photos definitely make me want to go even more. I love the 3rd to last photo! It’s gorgeous. Would’ve loved to catch the photography exhibit! Let me know how those books turn out 🙂

  3. Sounds like you had a lovely day, I still have yet to visit America, let alone LA. It’s great being a tourist in your own city, you discover so much more!

    Thanks for your sweet comment, keep reading.

    Robbie xox

    http://www.theothersideofthepondmydear.blogspot.com

  4. I wish I could visit LA and be a tourist for a day again. I’ve visited there twice now, but never did a nice cultural down-to-earth visit. The first time I spent the day gawking at Paris Hilton at Kitson for her clothing launch and then checking out the Hollywood Walk of Fame. The second time I was consumed in summer sales and being a good little consumerist. LA is so diverse and unusual. I just finished reading White Oleander and it made me even more intrigued about the city.

    You’re lucky to live there. On the coast still, but in warmer weather with so much more to do and see. Was there a reason you moved there in particular?

    • Hollywood. 🙂 My husband is a screenwriter, so he’s trying to “make it”… there are times when I appreciate LA, and other times I’m sure I don’t. It’s a good place to be if you have $$$, that’s for sure. Definitely much to do and see… always a new place to try… but I will not be too sad to leave. I’m from Iowa, a place where the people are more down-to-earth… and where the cost of living is lower!

      • Oh your husband sounds interesting! Cost of living can really be a huge turn off, I understand. It’s hard to enjoy a place if all you’re thinking about is money :S

  5. hi! i went to the Griffith Observatory for the first time a few weeks ago and loved it! And i’ve been meaning to go to the Getty w/my boyfriend. I may go this weekend just to see the pictures you mentioned. If so, i’ll give you a shout out 🙂

    • Yes! And Griffith Park is wonderful if you’re looking to hike. DO let me know if you go to the Getty. The line to wait for the shuttle may seem long, but you get up there pretty quick.

      Oh, and did you ever visit Larchmont Bungalow? If not… go! 🙂

Leave a Reply

