A Sweet Brunch at Tart

I had one of those marvelous weekends that you recall for days after the experiences, food, and fun times with an old friend have ended.

Sunday morning found my visiting best friend and me at Tart, a restaurant connected to the boutique hotel Farmer’s Daughter in LA. We arrived armed with a $25 Restaurant.com certificate, which I purchased over a year ago at 80% off for $2. If you’re familiar with Restaurant.com you’ll know that each certificate comes with restrictions. Most the $25 certificates require a minimum purchase of $35 and are valid on food only.

We dined like queens outdoors in the quintessential LA warmth. We began with the Seasonal Fruit Plate, $8.95, and a Buttery Croissant, $4.50 (neither pictured). Our main courses were the Brioche French Toast, $9.95, and the Meat Lover’s Skillet, $11.95, which we split.

For $10 a piece, tip included, we had a deliciously sweet and salty long brunch. If you’re in Los Angeles check out Tart after coffee and shopping at The Grove; it’s LA-fashion down-home cooking and décor complete with American fare, gingham napkins, cozy booths and strung patio lights. I will most definitely be returning.

14 responses to “A Sweet Brunch at Tart

  1. Brunch is always a good time. I’m so hungry now!

  2. that breakfast looks scrumptious! thanks for the restaurant.com recommendation!

  3. haven’t been to Tart but I’ll have to go check it out since that french toast look so yummy!

  4. I can almost smell the coffee and feel the warm sunshine. Sounds like a perfect way to spend time with a great friend. Love the photo’s!

  5. Wow! Looks and sounds bloody lovely!
    Your photography is stunning as well, I love this blog!

    http://www.deadstylish.wordpress.com
    xx

  6. Yum yum! I have friends in LA and I don’t think they know of these places. When I get ready to visit LA again I’m going through this blog! lol

  7. Interesting gift certificate concept…

  8. So glad you had fun – there is nothing like a leisurely brunch. I just purchased my first restaurant.com certificate about two weeks ago…I can’t believe I’ve missed out on such great deals for so long!

  9. shanell06@yahoo.com

    i love that place! your pictures are exquisite

  10. i’ve heard so many things about farmer’s daughter but never TART! looks scrumptious!

Leave a Reply

