Give New Life to Old Jeans

One of the major downfalls of bargain shopping, in addition to limited selection and time consumption, is that every once in a while I pick up an ill-fitting item just because of its clearance tag.

This past week I saw myself facing two dilemmas. One: I have too many unused jeans in my closet. Two: I want, but don’t want to spend the money on, a pair of appropriately-short frayed jean shorts. I put two and two together and had an idea: to give new life to some oversized jeans I purchased on clearance that haven’t seen the light of day.

The result was a pair of seriously cool shorts. I will pair them with an oversized button-down, or an equally loose cotton tee. See below for my steps on how to give new life to that pair of jeans sitting, lonely, in your closet. Tip: To avoid skin-tight creations, work with jeans that are too large. Well-fitting pants tend to be snug in the thigh area, but shorts need to have a little extra room.

7 responses to “Give New Life to Old Jeans

  1. Pingback: A Return… to My Frugal Ways «

  2. These are so cute! I get super nervous about cutting jeans, mainly because I’m always sure that I’ll mess them up… Yours look great, though!
    It’s my first time on your blog and I’m in love with it… Can’t wait for more!
    xo Josie
    http://winksmilestyle.blogspot.com

  3. Those turned out so good! I have tried this before and I think I picked the wrong pair of old jeans and completely ruined them and had to toss them out. I think they have to be a wider legged jean?

  4. Breanne Hunter

    Looks like a pair from J.Crew that would cost, like, $60 or more. I love J.Crew, but it’s SO overpriced.

  5. They look so great! I especially love them cuffed 🙂

  6. wow your shorts look awesome!!! thanks for the directions =)

  7. Very cute! I’d do this, but I honestly don’t own very many jeans. Guess I’ll actually have to buy cut-offs, because I do really like them.

Leave a Reply

