Short Getaways = Happiness

In the June issue of Shape magazine, I read the following:

“Deciding between going on one long getaway this summer or taking a bunch of shorter trips? To reap the biggest payoff from your break, choose the second option. Dutch researchers found that you get pleasure from anticipating a vacation, not just taking one.

Taking shorter trips may be the ticket to summer happiness, and I can attest to that. I can’t remember the last time I’ve been on a true, weeklong splurge of a vacation. For me, shorter (and much, much cheaper) jaunts offer more frequent build-up excitement.

While at Union Station yesterday in downtown Los Angeles, I began to the get an itch for travel – the train travel bug. A day-and-a-half train ride up to Seattle for a weekend stay seems more appealing than ever. Today my mind has taken me to Santa Fe and to Portland. Here I revisit three of my favorite, and affordable, shorter trips from the past couple of years. Yesterday’s post was about being a tourist in your own town; today it’s about being a tourist in or near your own state.

New Orleans, LA (June 2008)


Sarasota, FL (June 2008)

San Diego, CA (July 2009)


10 responses to “Short Getaways = Happiness

  1. I need one of these…

    That picture of the sleeping cat is just too cute!

  2. Love these photos!! I totally agree, more short vacas VS one 2 week long vacation are so much better. Long weekends away can be so romantic and rejuvenating. There are so many options and places to visit that are less than a days drive away, living in LA!

  3. wow what gorgeous pictures!!! i love your outfits, you’re so stylin! =)

  4. So jealous. I wanna go San diego πŸ™‚

    http://stylebake.blogspot.com/

  5. That last photo is so cool. Here’s to mini-vacays!

  6. love these pictures, so summery and perfect.

    xx raez

  7. Nice cluster of photos* !

    – Marai from L.A. πŸ˜‰

  8. Ah jealous of your travels!

  9. really wonderful!!
    loving your blog, keep it up!
    and thanks for your sweet comment, means the world!

    -cma
    COSMICaroline.blogspot.com

  10. Nice pictures, those beaches look amazing, and your so pretty! great post, just found your blog! πŸ™‚

    D E G A I N E

    http://www.fashiondegaine.com

Leave a Reply

