It’s Watermelon Season!

It’s almost May, and in California that means the start of watermelon season. Most weeks at one store or another you can purchase a watermelon for the price of a specialty coffee drink. At Ralphs this past week, for example, watermelons were on sale for $.019/lb. I scooped up a whole watermelon for $3.20. I chopped it up immediately and filled my Rubbermaid containers with delicious watermelon cubes. They look so pretty in my fridge.

Watermelon isn’t only incredibly affordable, but it’s packed with antioxidants and is abundant in beta carotene and vitamins A and C. At less than fifty calories per cup, it’s also a refreshing alternative for dessert or a snack. Its pink flesh is so pretty, and looks spectacular in photographs, as well.

3 responses to “It’s Watermelon Season!

  1. great pictures. that watermelon is mouth watering!

  2. looks really yummy!

  3. Watermelon is one of those foods that looks good to me, but try as I might, I do not like. Every summer I think, “This will be the year I like watermelon.” But it never is.

Leave a Reply

